logo Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
2024-04-23 10:40:17 CoV Wiki
Learn more about the Church of Virus
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Check out the IRC chat feature.

Church of Virus BBS
  General
  Arts & Entertainment

The International Meme Republic
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Reply Notify of replies Send the topic Print 
   Author  Topic: The International Meme Republic  (Read 1427 times)
ibrahim
Neophyte

I'm a llama!

View Profile E-Mail
The International Meme Republic
« on: 2004-12-10 11:16:10 »

[[ author reputation (0.00) beneath threshold (3)... display message ]]

Report to moderator   Logged
David Lucifer
Archon

Rate David Lucifer

Enlighten me.

View Profile WWW E-Mail
Re:The International Meme Republic
« Reply #1 on: 2004-12-11 14:04:05 »

Quote from: ibrahim on 2004-12-10 11:16:10   
I am a writer, currently researching a novel that explores the evolutionary potential of Memetic theory.  What I would like to know is, how do you think a state that was able to accomplish Memetic Engineering would function?  What would it be like to be an individual in this culture?  If the whole world was capable of constructing sophisticated, personalised, self-engineered memeplexes to define their personalities, would we still be human?

Since the state is the origin of these hypothetical memes we can probably assume that everyone infected with the memes would act in the state's interest, sublimating their own self-interest. So I would expect the culture to resemble totalitarian states like Nazi Germany or Communist USSR, except without the hypocrisy (assuming the leaders of these historical regimes were really exploiting the system in their own self interest).

What it would be like to live in this culture would depend on how effective the memetic engineering is. Is everyone infected or is there an active resistance? Are the people in power infected or merely exploiting the masses?