logo Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
2024-05-08 19:42:56 CoV Wiki
Learn more about the Church of Virus
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Donations now taken through PayPal

Church of Virus BBS
  General
  Evolution and Memetics

Genetic Algorithms
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Reply Notify of replies Send the topic Print 
   Author  Topic: Genetic Algorithms  (Read 1009 times)
Bass
Magister

Rate Bass

I'm a llama!

View Profile
Genetic Algorithms
« on: 2006-06-21 22:50:33 »

Hi, new here!
Anyone care to discuss Genetic & Evolutionary Algorithms? I've recently began studying the topic and would like to learn more. It is a very fascinating topic, if you havn't read anything on it, I highly recommend it. I'm still learning myself, but I've read one paper from the Computer Science Dept of Stanford. I have gotten my hands on a few books that I'm going to read ASAP on the subject and Algorithms in general. Any info you can share on the subject? I have an essay coming up and need some ideas!

Cheers.
Report to moderator   Logged
Fox
Archon

Rate Fox

Never underestimate the odds.

View Profile
Re:Genetic Algorithms
« Reply #1 on: 2006-06-23 17:31:00 »

Cool subject. Ok, I'll bite.

As you may already know, Genetic Algorithm (GA) transforms a population (set) of individual objects, each with an associated fitness value, into a new generation of the population using the Darwinian principle of reproduction and "survival of the fittest" (although initially coined by Alfred Wallace) and analogs of naturally occuring genetic operations such as crossover (sexual recombination) and mutation.Each individual in the population represents a possible solution to a given problem.