logo Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
2024-04-26 07:04:17 CoV Wiki
Learn more about the Church of Virus
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Read the first edition of the Ideohazard

Church of Virus BBS
  General
  Philosophy & Religion

Controlling Your Emotions before They Control You
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Reply Notify of replies Send the topic Print 
   Author  Topic: Controlling Your Emotions before They Control You  (Read 913 times)
LenKen
Adept

Rate LenKen

Mi caca es su caca.

View Profile WWW E-Mail
Controlling Your Emotions before They Control You
« on: 2004-07-05 02:04:40 »

Note: Although I’m not a professional psychologist, I’ve learned a great deal about Albert Ellis’s Rational-Emotive Behavior Therapy in the last couple years, since it’s been somewhat of an idée fixe of mine for quite some time.  And I hope I can pass on some of that knowledge to those of you who may not be familiar with REBT.
    For a much fuller treatment, you may want to check out Albert Ellis’s edifying book How to Control Your Anxiety before It Controls You.  Though he’s written scads of other books on REBT, this one is not only one of his most recent but also one of his best, written in a much more readable (and much less chatty) style than most of his earlier books—e.g., How to Subbornly Refuse to Make Yourself Miserable about Anything—Yes, Anything.

Controlling Your Emotions before They Control You:
Rational-Emotive Behavior Therapy in a Nutshell

by

Len Kennedy

Quote:
Men are disturbed not by things but by the views they take of them.

—The ancient Greek Stoic philosopher Epictetus

The above epigraph nicely sums up the gist of REBT.  After all, if a hundred different people experience the exact same misfortune—say, an earthquake—they won’t all react in exactly the same way: Some will sulk and wallow in self pity, while others will be prodded into action to help out the less fortunate . . . and still others will just start looting, the bastards.